Moroccan national flag  Morocco

News |  Business |  Tourism |  African Foods |  Photos |  African Music |  Visa |  African Embassies in Japan |  Japan Embassies in Africa

Click to enlarge map of moroccoMap of Morocco

Advertise on this page

Name(official): Kingdom of Morocco
Name(short): Morocco
Capital City: Rabat
Location: Northern Africa, bordering the North Atlantic ocean and the Mediterranean sea, between Algeria and Western Sahara.
Coordinate: 32 00 N, 5 00 W
Independence: (From France) March 2nd; 1956.
President: King MOHAMED VI (king and head of state),
Driss JETTOU (Prime Minister)
Type of Government: Constitutional Monarchy.
Total Area: 446
Population: 32 241 259 (July 2006 est.)
People: Arab-Berbers 99.1%, other 0.7%, Jewish 0.2%.
Religion: Muslims 98.7%, christians 1.1%, Jewish 0.2%.
Languages: Arabic(official), Berber dialects, French -offficial language for business and diplomacy.
Literacy: 51.7%total, 64.1%male, 39.4%female (2003 est.)
Currency: Moroccan dirhams(MAD)
GDP(per capita): $4 100
Arable Land: 19% (2005 est.)
Agriculture: Barley, wheat, citrus, wine, vegetables, olives, livestocks.
Natural resources: Phosphate, iron ore, manganese, lead, zinc, fish, salt.
Embassy in Japan: Embassy of the Kingdom of Morocco,
Chancery: 5-4-30 Minami-Aoyama, Minato-ku.
Post Code: 107-0062, Tel. 03-5485-7171
Embassy of the Kingdom of Morocco, Tokyo
General Info:
International Phone Code: +212


  • Tourism:
    • High Atlas
    • The Sahara (world's largest desert)
    • Lalla Fatma Beach
    • Plage Quemada, Al Hoceima (Beach)
    • Tangier Town Beach
    • Cedar Forest Wildlife -South of Azrou
    • Wetland Wildlife -Madja Zerga


Casablanca, Fes, Marrakesh, Rabat, Safi, Ouarzazate, kenitra, Tangier.




15 regions; Grand Casablanca, Chaouia-Ouardigha, Doukkala-Abda, Fes-Boulemane, Gharb-Chrarda-Beni Hssen, Guelmim-Es Smara, Laayoune-Boujdour-Sakia El Hamra, Marrakech-Tensift-Al Haouz, Meknes-Tafilalet, Oriental, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer, Souss-Massa-Draa, Tadla-Azilal, Tanger-Tetouan, Taza-Al Hoceima-Taounate.
Note: Morocco claims the territory of Western Sahara, the political status of which is considered undetermined by the US Government; portions of the regions Guelmim-Es Smara and Laayoune-Boujdour-Sakia El Hamra as claimed by Morocco lie within Western Sahara; Morocco claims another region, Oued Eddahab-Lagouira, which falls entirely within Western Sahara.


All data posted on this site is for information purposes. We use statistical data gathered from the CIA World Factbook and numerous other public domain reference materials. While every effort had been made to be as accurate as possible in our presentation, no claim is being made/inferred as to the accuracy or otherwise of these materials and we accept no responsibility for unintentional data entry errors and or omissions. By using this data, you agree to do so at your own risk.

Home| Resource Directory | Heads of States | Regional Bodies | NGOs/NPOs | Site Map |
Link to Us | Consultancy |   About Us | Comments! | Privacy Policy! | Terms & Conditions!
© 2007, Japan Africa Network
All trademarks and registered trademarks appearing on this site are the property of their respective owners.