Tunisian national flag  Tunisia

News |  Business |  Tourism |  African Foods |  Photos |  African Music |  Visa |  African Embassies in Japan |  Japan Embassies in Africa

Click to enlarge map of tunisiaMap of Tunisia

Advertise on this page

Name(official): Tunisian Republic
Name(short): Tunisian
Capital City: Tunis
Location: Northern Africa, bordering the Mediterranean Sea, between Algeria and Libya.
Coordinate: 34 00 N, 9 00 E
Independence: (From France) March 20th; 1956.
  • Moncef Marzouki - President(acting)
    from 13 December 2011 -
  • Hamadi Jebali(PM from 24 December 2011 to date
  • Fouad Mebazaa acting President - 15/01/2011 to 13/12/2011
  • Beji Caid el SEBI (PM 27/02/2011 to 24/12/2011
  • Mohamed GHANNOUCHI (PM 17/11/1999 to 27/2/2011)
    acting President 14/1/2011 - 15/1/2011
  • Zine el Abidine BEN ALI (President 14/10/1997 to 14/1/2011) stepped down and fled the country following popular mass protest dubbed Jasmine Revolution after a 23-year-rule. The protests began in December 2010 after Mohamed Bouazizi set himself on fire after police confiscated his produce cart)
  • Hamed Karoui - PM 27/9/1989 to 17/11/1999
  • Habib Bourguiba - 1st President 25/7/1957 to 7/11/1987
Type of Government: Republic
Total Area: 163 610sq.km.
Population: 10 175 014 (July 2006 est.)
People: Arab 98%, European 1%, Tewish and other 1%
Religion: Muslim 98%, christian 1%, Jewish and other 1%
Languages: Arab (official and one of the languages of commerce); French (commerce)
Literacy: 74.3%total, 83.4%male, 65.3%female (2004)
Currency: Tunisian dinar (TND)
GDP(per capita): $8 200 (2005)
Arable Land: 17.05%
Agriculture: Olives, olive oil, grains, tomatoes, citrus fruit, sugar beets, dates, almond, beef, diary products.
Natural resources: Petroleum, phosphate, iron ore, lead, zinc, salt.
Embassy in Japan: Embassy of the Republic of Tunisia,
Chancery: 3-6-6, Kudan-Minami, Chiyoda-ku.
Post Code: 102-0074, Tel. 03-3511-6622/5
Embassy of the Tunisian Republic, Tokyo
General Info: Tunisia Online Info
International Phone Code: +216



Tunis, Ariana, Beja, Bizerte, Carthage, El Djem, Gabé GAfsa, Jerba, Kasserine, mahdia, Makthar, Medenine, Tataouine, Tozeur, Sousse.




24 governorates; Ariana (Aryanah), Beja (Bajah), Ben Arous (Bin 'Arus), Bizerte (Banzart), Gabes (Qabis), Gafsa (Qafsah), Jendouba (Jundubah), Kairouan (Al Qayrawan), Kasserine (Al Qasrayn), Kebili (Qibili), Kef (Al Kaf), Mahdia (Al Mahdiyah), Manouba (Manubah), Medenine (Madanin), Monastir (Al Munastir), Nabeul (Nabul), Sfax (Safaqis), Sidi Bou Zid (Sidi Bu Zayd), Siliana (Silyanah), Sousse (Susah), Tataouine (Tatawin), Tozeur (Tawzar), Tunis, Zaghouan (Zaghwan).


All data posted on this site is for information purposes. We use statistical data gathered from the CIA World Factbook and numerous other public domain reference materials. While every effort had been made to be as accurate as possible in our presentation, no claim is being made/inferred as to the accuracy or otherwise of these materials and we accept no responsibility for unintentional data entry errors and or omissions. By using this data, you agree to do so at your own risk.

Home| Resource Directory | Heads of States | Regional Bodies | NGOs/NPOs | Site Map |
Link to Us | Consultancy |   About Us | Comments! | Privacy Policy! | Terms & Conditions!
© 2007, Japan Africa Network
All trademarks and registered trademarks appearing on this site are the property of their respective owners.