Kenyan flag  Kenya

News |  Business |  Tourism |  African Foods |  Photos |  African Music |  Visa |  African Embassies in Japan |  Japan Embassies in Africa

Click to enlarge map of kenyaMap of Kenya

Advertise on this page

Name(official): Republic of Kenya
Name(short): Kenya
Capital City: Nairobi
Location: Eastern Africa
Coordinate: 1 00 N, 38 00 E
Independence: (from Britain)12 December 1963
Became a republic 12 December 1964(Jamhuri Day)
  • Mwai KIBAKI - President from 30 December 2002
  • Raila ODINGA - Prime Minister since 17 April 2008
  • Stephene Kalonzo MUSYOKA - V. P. since 10 Jan; 2008
Type of Government: Republic
Total Area: 582
Population: 39 802 000 (2009 estimate)
People: Kikuyu 22%, Luhya 14%, Luo 13%, Kalenjin 12%, Kamba 11%, Kisii 6%, Meru 6%, other African 15%, non-African (Asian, European, and Arab) 1%.
Religion: christians78%, indigenous belief10%, muslim10%, others2%
Languages: English and Kiswahili (official), plus numerous indigenous languages
Literacy: 85.1%total, 90.6%male, 79.7%female (2003 est.)
Currency: Kenyan shilling (1Ksh =100 cents)
GDP(per capita): $1 100 (2005 est.)
Arable Land: 8.01% (2005 est.)
Agriculture: tea, coffee, corn, wheat, sugarcane, fruits, vegetables, diary products, beef, pork, poultry, eggs.
Natural resources: limestone, soda ash, salt, zinc, gemstone, flourspar, diatomite, gypsum, wildlife, hydropower.
Embassy in Japan: Embassy of the Republic of Kenya,
Chancery: 3-24-3, Yakumo, Meguro-ku. Post Code: 152-0023 Tel. 03-3723-4006/7
Embassy of the Republic of Kenya
General Info:
International Phone Code: +254


  • Kenya National Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Investment Promotion Center
  • Export Processing Zone Authority
  • Tea Board of Kenya
  • Kenya Flower Council
  • Kenya Bureau of Standards
  • Kenya Revenue Authority
  • Central Bank of Kenya
  • Kenya Association of Manufacturers
  • Centre for Business Information in Kenya (Export Promotion Council)
  • Tourism:
    • Kenya Tourist Board
    • Kenya Wildlife Service
    • Kenya Association of Tour Operators
    • Ecotourism Society of Kenya


Nairobi, Mombasa, Nakuru, Kisumu, Eldoret, Thika.


  • Communications Commission of Kenya
  • Coast Weeks
  • East African Standards
  • Kenya Times
  • Nation Newspapers
  • Kenya Broadcasting Corporation



Listed below are the 7 provinces and 1 area of Kenya:
Central, Coast, Eastern, North Eastern, Nyanza, Rift Valley, Western and Nairobi Area.


All data posted on this site is for information purposes. We use statistical data gathered from the CIA World Factbook and numerous other public domain reference materials. While every effort had been made to be as accurate as possible in our presentation, no claim is being made/inferred as to the accuracy or otherwise of these materials and we accept no responsibility for unintentional data entry errors and or omissions. By using this data, you agree to do so at your own risk.

Home| Resource Directory | Heads of States | Regional Bodies | NGOs/NPOs | Site Map |
Link to Us | Consultancy |   About Us | Comments! | Privacy Policy! | Terms & Conditions!
© 2007, Japan Africa Network
All trademarks and registered trademarks appearing on this site are the property of their respective owners.